Prairie Prince’s COLOURS & PASSIONS

Perfect rhythms, enlightened poetry, word paintings, visual renderings: All are found in the COLOURS & PASSIONS project created by drummer and artist, Prairie Prince.

Each musical piece features a different type of drum chosen from Prairie’s collection of percussive instruments celebrated throughout the world.

Seeking a form for a solo project with guest musicians, he reached back to the 1950’s remembering Ken Nordine’s spoken word records that were favorites of his older sisters, Leslie and Helen Prince. One “Word Jazz” recording was “Colors” produced in 1966. Prairie’s project is a new take on Nordine’s work.

This album is dedicated in memory to those who passed on recently, especially Jesse Gress. He was a big advocate of Nordine and turned me on to the “Colors” album.

This project has slowly taken shape, with collaborations from fellow musicians, each musical piece has a distinct input by friends. Now the 14 cuts, accompanied by Prairie’s artistic renderings of the various drums, have been completed and are label ready. Contact Prairie for more information about the future of this recording.

Front Cover

Back Cover



Prairie Prince – Producer
Chris von Sneidern  – Co-Producer and Engineer
Leslie Prince Raimond – Executive Producer
Helen Hannay Prince  – Executive Producer (in memoriam)
Michael Cotten – Video and Associate Producer
Francesca Raimond – Digital Production

Recorded at Tape Vault Studio, San Francisco, California
2014 – 2024

Oink – Inspiration



Prairie Prince – Traps, Cuica, Doumbek, Vocal, Talking Drum
Chris von Sneidern – Background Vocals, Samples
Atom Ellis – Bass
Tom Ayres – Guitar


Prairie Prince – Traps, Bongos, Percussion, Moroccan Clappers, Vocal
Chris von Sneidern – Samples
Mike Cotten – Keys, Synths, Samples
Italia Luminosa Raimond Jones – Cello
Tom Ayres – Guitar
Atom Ellis – Bass
Diana Mangano – Vocals
Steve Conte – Guitar Solos
Vince Welnick – Vocal
Gregor Huebner – Violin


Prairie Prince – Traps, Vocal, Wooden Bones, French Frog Box, Shakari, Bongos, Doumbek, Damaru,
Chris von Sneidern – Background Vocals, Vocal, Samples
Buckethead – Bass Guitar
Jeff Tamiler – Guitars
Gil Assayas – Keys, Synth
Kiki Smith – Early Spring Tree Frog: Field Recording


Prairie Prince – Vocal, Traps, Log Drum, Bamboo, Water Gong, Wave Drum
Chris von Sneidern – Samples
Jennifer Burnes – Bass Guitar
Jim Thomas – Guitar
Diana Mangano – Siren Vocal
Ralph Carney – Flugelhorn, Vocal


Prairie Prince – Vocal, Jagog, Balinese Hand Drum, Bass Drum, Snare Drum
Chris von Sneidern – Samples
Mike Cotten – Samples, Keys
Bobby Vega – Bass
Frankie Jupiter – Vocals, Keys
Barbara Golden – Vocals, Piano
Neil Hamburger – Joke (Yellow)


Prairie Prince – Vocal, Traps, Quira, Timbales, Bass Drum
Chris von Sneidern – Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar
Mike Cotten – Keys, Samples, Synth
David James – Bass, Guitar, Background Vocals
Ross Valory – Bass Guitar, Vocals
Eric Levy – Keys, Synth
Diana Mangano – Vocals
Charlie Prince – Laughs
Neil Hamburger – Joke (Orange)


Prairie Prince – Vocal, Click, Traps, Doumbek
Chris von Sneidern – Samples
Buckethead – Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar
Bobby Strickland – Flute
Neil Hamburger – Joke (Black, White, & Red, Flesh)


Prairie Prince – Congas, Traps, Vocal, Doumbek
Chris von Sneidern – Guitar, Samples
Mike Cotten – Synths, Keys, Samples
Brian Compton – Bass
Jimmy “the Sax” Taylor – Saxophone
Neil Hamburger – Joke (Green)


Prairie Prince – Gong, Cymbals, Traps, Vocal
Chris von Sneidern – Guitar, Choir, Vocals, Samples
Kasim Sulton – Bass Guitar, Vocals
Gregor Huebner – Violin
Steve Conte – Lead Guitars


Prairie Prince – Vocal Chorus, Background Vocals, Traps, Hambone Slap
Chris von Sneidern – Background Vocals, Samples
Todd Rundgren – Vocal Verses, Guitar, Synths, Sequencer
Jason Scheff – Bass Guitar, Vocals
Joe Dileo – Slide Guitar, Guitars
Jello Biafra – Vocal
Mikel “Squirrel Man” Ross – Cracker Vocal
Trash White Chorus:
(Recorded by Kurt Schlegel at Lucky Recording Company – Brisbane, CA)
Prairie Prince
Anne-Marie Anderson
Ralph Spight
Mikel Ross
Jello Biafra
Kurt Schlegel


Prairie Prince – Vocal, Marching Snare, Navajo Drum
Chris von Sneidern – Guitar, Vocals
Beth Custer – Baritone Clarinet
Hugh Cornwell – Guitar, Vocal
James Deprato – Slide Guitar
Neil Hamburger – Joke (Blue)


Prairie Prince – Djembe, Traps, Vocal
Chris von Sneidern – Guitar, Samples
Mike Cotten – Samples, Keys, Synths
Bobby Vega – Bass Guitar
Bobby Strickland – Flute, Saxophones: Alto, Tenor & Baritone
Bruce McDaniel – Guitar Solo
Grace Yoo – Background Vocals
Mia Jones – Background Vocals
Randy Brown – Bongos


Prairie Prince – Kitchen Utensils, Traps, Vocal, Bowls
Chris von Sneidern – Samples, Guitar, Bass
Michael Holman – Vocal, Background Vocals
Nick Taylor – Background Vocals
John Ferenzik – Guitar Solo
Neil Hamburger – Joke (Gray)


Prairie Prince – Vocal, Traps 1
Chris von Sneidern – Guitar, Samples
Roger Steen – Guitars (Lead Solos)
Rick Anderson – Bass Guitar 1
Atom Ellis – Bass Guitar 2
Trey Sabatelli – Traps 2
Cyril Jordan – Guitar
Joe Mirante – Vocals, Guitar Feedback
Neil Hamburger – Joke (Black)